The Beauty by Aliya Whiteley

Rating: ★★★

I haven’t finished reading a book since May of this year. I’ve started a few, but I just couldn’t continue with them. So a couple of weeks ago, I decided to officially stop all of them and pick up a short book. I have a shelf on Goodreads for books I’m interested in which are 150 pages or less. The Beauty is very short. Goodreads gives it 99 pages, but I doubt it. I read just about everything on my phone, and the edition I have has another short story at the back, so I can’t say for sure how many pages it is. The point is, it was short, which is why I was able to finish it.

That sounds mean. The story was intriguing and I wanted to see what happened, so I kept going. But, due to my own inability to read, I would stop for several days at a time. I’m hoping that in the new year I will be more dedicated to reading. Since it’s so short, I don’t want to say much about the plot. I will say that the story opens with a group of boys and men living on their own. All the women have died from some sort of disease that does not affect men. I personally wasn’t clear if it was a fungus that started in the women’s bodies, or was something that came from without and entered them. Either way, they are gone. But something comes to the men which will seemingly replace the women, or offer something new.

The book is fascinating, sexual, and gross. It might be something I would visit again, but it’s definitely something I will be thinking about for a while. I thought about rating it four stars, but there are so many things that I’m unclear on. That can happen with a story so short. But the premise doesn’t really allow for something to be developed further. So here we are.

The Beauty was published in 2014, and more recently there has been a lot of talk surrounding trans rights, issues, laws, restrictions, etc. I am non-binary, and while I’m not sure if I would call myself trans, I am firmly on the side of trans rights. The reason I mention this is that this story is saying a lot about societal expectations of one’s gender identity. It goes further into changing biology of people within the story. I can’t help but read what’s happening through today’s lens. I don’t know what I would have thought if I read it in 2014. But it just feels like it’s screaming something about trans people here. I just don’t know what it is.

Because the book is so thought-provoking, I would recommend it, but I wouldn’t expect any clear understanding. It’s kind of just there, showing you something interesting. I enjoyed it.

Leave a comment